Crowd watching the awards

The Chancellor's Awards for Leadership

The newly created Chancellor's Awards recognize individuals who demonstrate exceptional leadership and service to the WSU Pullman and surrounding community, as well as those who support leadership development in WSU Pullman students. Beginning in 1996 as the "President's Award for Leadership," these awards are an honor bestowed annually to students and others representing the top leaders at WSU. The President's Award for Leadership remains as an honor bestowed to the top leader at each WSU campus.

Watch the 2024 Ceremony

Sofie Isabella Aronovsky receives their 2023 President's Award for Leadership.

Sofie Isabella Aronovsky receives the President's Award for Leadership.

Celebrating the Awardees

Each April, WSU celebrates the recipients of the Chancellor's Award for Leadership and The Virginia E. Thomas Scholarship.

Alvin Joseph Azana, 2023 virginia e. thomas endowed scholarship recipient. Brian Shuffield, student engagement services director.

Alvin Joseph Azana receives 2023 Virginia E. Thomas Endowed Scholarship from Brian Shuffield, student engagement services director.

The Virginia E. Thomas Endowed Scholarship

Established by Virginia's colleagues, friends, and students, this scholarship is awarded concurrently with the Chancellor's Awards for Leadership during the award ceremony each April.

Special Thanks to Our Sponsors

  • Associated Students of WSU
  • Center for Civic Engagement
  • Center for Student Organizations and Leadership
  • Compton Union Building
  • Graduate & Professional Student Association.