The President's Awards for Leadership

The President's Award for Leadership is an honor bestowed annually to students and others representing the top leaders at WSU.  Recipients of this prestigious award demonstrate exceptional leadership and service to the university and the community as well as to those who support leadership development in WSU students. View the Award Criteria & Categories for more information.

Sofie Isabella Aronovsky receives the President's Award for Leadership.

Celebrating the Awardees

Each April, WSU celebrates the recipients of the President's Award for Leadership and The Virginia E. Thomas Scholarship.

Alvin Joseph Azana receives 2023 Virginia E. Thomas Endowed Scholarship from Brian Shuffield, student engagement services director.

The Virginia E. Thomas Endowed Scholarship

Established by Virginia's colleagues, friends, and students, this scholarship is awarded concurrently with the President’s Awards for Leadership during the award ceremony each April.

Special Thanks to Our Sponsors

  • Associated Students of WSU
  • Center for Civic Engagement
  • Center for Student Organizations and Leadership
  • Compton Union Building
  • Graduate & Professional Student Association.